Noseweight (again)

DippingIn replied on 12/10/2019 12:59

Posted on 12/10/2019 12:59

Hello All, absolute newbie with a question regarding nose weight.

I am very happy that my 'maximum' nose-weight is 100kg, this is based on car limitations, towbar max towing capacity, and the 5-7% ratio.  So I am happy with how the weight figure is achieved.

My question is - if it is the 'maximum' nose-weight, does this also mean 'optimum' nose-weight. 

We pack light and to be honest I am struggling to achieve 100kg at the nose with heavy internal items (empty waste tubs, awning, picnic chairs) over the axle where possible.  

Does anyone find that reducing the measured nose-weight below 'maximum' enhances stability and road handling therefore achieving 'optimum' nose-weight. I am aware that every combination of car/caravan will behave slightly differently, but I have a 2.0 Kuga AWD with Alddis Avante. I measure with the Milenco calibrated nose gauge.

I'm a little afraid to play with weights as I'm aware the consequences could be grave, however whenever I read 'do not exceed xxx kg' that's pretty much a warning to keep below that limit where possible.

Many thanks for any experiences or advice you may wish to share.

JP

JVB66 replied on 12/10/2019 14:08

Posted on 12/10/2019 14:08

The weights that are shown for towbar ie 100kg and the nose weight of the caravan should not be exceeded ,the max weight on an Alco hitch is also 100kg  

replied on 12/10/2019 14:18

Posted on 12/10/2019 14:18

No idea what MPTLM your caravan is D. Ours is 1,500 kg and although car max is 100kg I aim for 85 kg. However I don't check every trip. We mainly tour and the caravan is loaded in the same manner with similar loads on each trip. When I do check these days I find it is between 82kg and 87kg generally and I am happy with that. I use a set of bathroom scales bought for that purpose as I can easily check calibration by standing on them smile 

commeyras replied on 12/10/2019 14:31