A-Frame Towing Europe

Paul1951 replied on 09/07/2017 18:12

Posted on 09/07/2017 18:12

A-Frame towing in Europe
I know this subject has been covered many times on various forums and I have read most of them.
I have been towing a Citroen C1 behind my Swift Bolero for 4 years now without any issues, but the number of people reporting problems does concern me. The system I use is fully electronic applying the cars brakes in proportion to the motorhome braking, there is a breakaway safety device fitted, all car lighting operate as any caravan or trailer would and it can be reversed without intervention. I believe this system meets all the legal requirements for a trailer hear in the UK.

I also believe that In Europe and Spain especially, the A-Frame assembly is classed as a recovery tool as in a Tow-Dolly or Rigid Tow which can only be used for short distances by licensed agents. These devices have no braking or lighting connection to the towed vehicle.

Now my point is more to do with the Safety and Convenience issue.
I don't think there is any doubt that towing with an A-Frame that meats all legal requirements is more Stable, Safer and more Convenient than using car transport trailer. With the growing number of Club members realising these benefits should the Motorhome and Caravan Club legal team be taking this matter up.
Comments Please.

Tinwheeler replied on 09/07/2017 19:43

Posted on 09/07/2017 19:43

Are you really expecting CAMC to take on Europe?

Sorry but European law is unlikely to be changed by a few whimperings from CAMC. Anyway, once we're no longer part of the EU they won't even need to listen to the UK.

Tammygirl replied on 09/07/2017 20:14

Posted on 09/07/2017 20:14

Oh how I wish this problem would be resolved, however I think it will carry on for ever.

We used to A frame in Europe but having been stopped twice now, In German and Belgium, we only use the A frame in the UK.