Noseweight gauges

Geering replied on 19/02/2020 11:27

Posted on 19/02/2020 11:27

I am a newbie to caravaning and want to ensure I get the right nose weight (I am happy that I understand the correct figure)

I am looking at purchasing a guage but am torn between the Milenco or Maypole.

The Maypole seems to be good value but am wary of buying 'cheap & cheerful' that cannot be relied upon to give me an accurate reading.

Any thoughts or recommendations please ?

replied on 19/02/2020 11:50

Posted on 19/02/2020 11:50

I can't help I'm afraid. I bought a sturdy pair of kitchen scales and along with a piece of timber and a length of broom handle prefer to use that since I can easily check calibration using my own body weight measured on our proper bathroom scales. I always pack in the same way and no longer check as I know that I will be over 85kg and under 90kg which is fine for me

richardandros replied on 19/02/2020 12:05

Posted on 19/02/2020 12:05

I bought the Milenco on the basis that it's the only one that has been calibrated.  OK, so a bit more money but it seems to do the job. I haven't checked it against anything else, so I can't vouch for its accuracy - but it does seem consistent in that if I know Ros has gone more overboard than usual with the amount of clothes she's put in the rear wardrobes, it does reflect it!

I've learned the hard way - many times - that 'cheap 'n cheerful' doesn't work and you're usually better off getting what you believe to be the best in the first place.

lornalou1 replied on 20/02/2020 20:17

Posted on 19/02/2020 14:18 by Geering

Is this something you have used and can recommend ?

Posted on 20/02/2020 20:17

Yes I have one. It measures the same as my bathroom scales. The thing is they all look the same so could be made at same factory and just different names added.  

Rufs replied on 21/02/2020 08:42

Posted on 20/02/2020 20:17 by lornalou1