Do you have to attend degree course?

IanH replied on 15/04/2017 19:29

Posted on 15/04/2017 19:29

Is it necessary to attend a course at University for several years to be able to get a degree, or can you just take the final exam and get it?

Navigateur replied on 15/04/2017 19:53

Posted on 15/04/2017 19:53

The time was you got your lower degrees just by sitting an exam and you did not need to go to tutorials and seminars. Now it is all about continuous assessment so you have to be there to be assessed, in some places every week!

Even with "distance learning" there is often a requirement to turn up occasionally.

Or you can just buy a degree off the Internet!

Cornersteady replied on 15/04/2017 22:25

Posted on 15/04/2017 22:25

there isn't just one final exam, and even 30 years ago when I did my first degree your second year results counted towards the final classification awarded. In my time it was examinations in June but now the exams are done at two times (usually January and June) following the two semester pattern. Depending upon course and university on course assessment may also count. Also nowadays attendance at lectures is closely monitored with some universities requiring students to swipe in their Id cards on arrival and students are kicked out for serious non attendance.  

IanH replied on 16/04/2017 09:17

Posted on 16/04/2017 09:17

But what if you already know all the stuff that they would tell you in the lectures?

Is this just to get the £9k a year fees out of people?

DavidKlyne replied on 16/04/2017 09:51

Posted on 16/04/2017 09:17 by IanH

But what if you already know all the stuff that they would tell you in the lectures?

Posted on 16/04/2017 09:51

Surely the £9000 fees are for students enrolled for a three year course. I am not sure distance learning fees are as much although of course there are usually over a longer period. One of my Son's is currently doing another MA but fortunately being supported by his employer.

David