Water connection on serviced pitch

WilsoMellyEllyot replied on 19/10/2022 20:24

Posted on 19/10/2022 20:24

I’m sure people ask this question a lot by I’m new to motorhome stuff and I’m sure I’m missing something. At the moment I’m on a serviced pitch and when my onboard water tank is empty I get the hose out and wind it out and connect it up and refill the tank. Am I doing this wrong isn’t there a way to have the connection always refilling the tank? I see people with caravans and they have their water barrels connected all the time, I just thought there would be a solution for motorhomes as well. 

young thomas replied on 14/11/2022 18:11

Posted on 14/11/2022 18:11

You could, of course, have a barrel and a siphon system to keep it topped up. Then you'd need to have some sort of pump to get the water from the barrel into the tank...and find somewhere to store the barrel(s).

personally, I just use a hose as you've described.

you can leave your hose connected to the tap and just shove the other end into the filler hole. You can use the hose to top up at any time, you don't have to wait for it to become empty.

using a hose is the least hassle, IMHO as you don't need all the extra kit that caravanners carry in the way of barrel (or two) and all the pumping kit.

keep it simple is the way.

Graydjames replied on 14/11/2022 18:20

Posted on 14/11/2022 18:20

Even though nearly a month old, this was showing as the latest post just now (14/11/2022 at around 18:00) on the top-level list of discussions. That caused me to look at it and found you'd had no responses, which seems odd.