Small caravan - Making the right choice

Wilmslow replied on 03/11/2017 09:51

Posted on 03/11/2017 09:51

Hello,

I am new to caravanning.

My requirements are a small caravan for fitting on the driveway, and also wanting to keep my current car. I have a 170HP Alfa, so while powerful it is a lightweight car.

I have dome some researching and the following models seem to suit:

Freedom Microlite

Go-Pod

Teardrop Caravan

Elddis Explore

Teardrop is a cracking price - around £5K. Microlite has deals for around £8K. However Go-Pod seem rather fixed about their £10K price-tag (which is about to go up to £11K).

My main worry is a van that will tow well - I plan to take it around France / Europe.

I am leaning towards the Go-Pod on grounds of not being too small and looking a lot more towable than the other options.

Firstly, are there any other caravans I should be considering?

Secondly, if anyone has any ideas about getting the besty price, either in the UK or ordering and collecting from Europe, I would be very interested.

Regards,

Wilmslow.

PATMAU replied on 08/11/2017 09:53

Posted on 08/11/2017 09:53

Have a look at the Lunar Ariva.  Standard size caravan height wise, but narrow at 2.05m.  We have one because of the width restriction at home.  Internal spec is on a par with a larger caravan.  Tows well too.

alanannej replied on 08/11/2017 10:03

Posted on 08/11/2017 10:03