Services on A1 south

Lawrence Crouch replied on 06/07/2021 20:15

Posted on 06/07/2021 20:15

I’m fairly new to caravanning. I’m reasonably comfortable towing but I worry about stops and not being able to turn the van round in a car park. Next week we are going down A1 from Yorkshire to Suffolk. Does anyone know of a service station with guaranteed caravan stops that avoid having to reverse?

Would really appreciate any advice - and yes I know I need to learn how to reverse!

Larry 

Cornersteady replied on 06/07/2021 20:28

Posted on 06/07/2021 20:28

Hello, maybe a starting point in and the route from Yorkshire would be helpful in trying to help?

I can recommend Wetherby Services but that might be too close?

DavidKlyne replied on 06/07/2021 20:37

Posted on 06/07/2021 20:37

Another vote for Wetherby Services. The caravan parking is often supervised at weekends and as a motorhomer I have twice been directed to the nearby lorry park in order that the places are saved for caravans. No objection to that on my part as the lorry park is a bit nearer the coffee!!! Shame that more service areas don't supervise there parking.

David

KjellNN replied on 06/07/2021 21:09

Posted on 06/07/2021 21:09

Depends on what you want to do?  If just to refuel, pretty much any decent forecourt will be suitable.

If a lunch  or comfort stop, we always use our own facilities and either a decent lay by, or in a service area we  go with the HGVs unless proper caravan suitable parking is signed.

just had a poor experience at Baldock services on A1M, where the signed caravan spaces were about 2m longer than our van, and only about as wide as the van!

If stopping for lunch, an early stop just before midday is more likely to guarantee a space.  12.30-2.00 is always busy.

EmilysDad replied on 06/07/2021 21:25

Posted on 06/07/2021 21:09 by KjellNN

Depends on what you want to do?  If just to refuel, pretty much any decent forecourt will be suitable.