Rest stops

ScreenNameBC542F9FA0 replied on 17/06/2018 09:44

Posted on 17/06/2018 09:44

Good everybody, Complete novice to caravanning been on two recent short trips, loved it so far. However our next trip is to Harlech ( Min Y Don Holiday park ) in July and need some guidance with rest stops. We live in Solihull so its going to be a 3 and 1/2 trip. I am thinking of stopping on the last services on the M54 and would like to know where I can make further stops en route? My route is A5,B4396,B4391,A494,A4212,A496.

Any suggestions would be most welcome or guide me to where I can get this information please.Thank you

commeyras replied on 17/06/2018 10:20

Posted on 17/06/2018 10:20

Hello PJK and welcome to our great hobby.  Don't know your route but I'm sure you will get a detailed reply soon.  However, there really is no need to over plan your shortish trip; just  let nature, stomach and traffic lead you to when you need to stop.  One of the joys of caravanning is the relaxed and free (ish) style of holiday it gives you. There will be plenty of places on your route where you can pull off for a break be they lay byes, cafes or service stations - we have never had a problem finding somewhere.  I know not relevant to you but those of us who do long continental trips tend tp do the 3 x 2 hour driving stints. 

lornalou1 replied on 17/06/2018 11:48

Posted on 17/06/2018 11:48

I would say that 1 stop half way would suffice as a comfort break for 10/15 mins then onward to destination. Enjoy.

dmiller555 replied on 17/06/2018 16:44

Posted on 17/06/2018 16:44

Having recently towed up the M54 and stopped at the service area I found the caravan parking restricted by the need to make a tight 90 deg turn into the bay, of which there are only 5. We were lucky to find one empty.

There were however plenty of laybys on the main Welsh roads and we had no difficulty in finding space for rest breaks.