Rear mounted bike rack.Good or bad idea?

MysteryBandits replied on 26/03/2017 03:39

Posted on 26/03/2017 03:39

Hi all,

I'm new to the touring game.I bought a new swift challenger 590 last year.This year I'm looking to take the bikes with us on holiday. As of yet I don't have a bike rack but my van has the thule mounts, and according to the manual I could fit the thule elite g2 rack.However, there is some info online stating that bikes on the back of a tourer can be dangerous due to the extra weight on the back. Surely this is not the case otherwise swift would not include these mounts in the first place?

I would be looking to buy the rack plus extra fittings to carry 2 adults bikes and 2 kids bikes.

Does anyone have experience or offer advice on this subject Please?

DavidKlyne replied on 26/03/2017 17:32

Posted on 26/03/2017 17:32

Many will say you shouldn't put a bike rack on the back of a caravan but our Dutch and German chums do it all the time. You obviously have to check carefully that it does not unbalance the overall weight distribution of the caravan. One thing that concerns me about what you have said is that you want to put four bikes on the rack, albeit two of them childrens bikes. I think that could be pushing things too far and would suggest alternative travelling arrangements for the childrens bikes, either inside the caravan if you have sufficient payload (same would apply if you had them on the back) or perhaps in the car.

David 

replied on 28/03/2017 09:34

Posted on 28/03/2017 09:34

The user and all related content has been Deleted User

indoors replied on 28/03/2017 15:57

Posted on 28/03/2017 15:57

" I'd suggest Many will say you shouldn't put a bike rack on the back of a caravan but our Dutch and German chums do it all the time "

David, the vast majority of them would be Continental 'vans.