How much gas will I need?

Andrew and Sarah replied on 29/05/2016 17:46

Posted on 29/05/2016 17:46

Hi, we are new members and complete novices, hiring a motorhome for the first time this summer to spend approximately 18 days touring in Europe, staying at CC sites at each stop. The Autotrail Cheyenne 660 will be equipped with two full gas canisters by our very friendly hirer. Will that be ample/OK/not enough for two adults? We do a fair bit of cooking and both like a shower at least once a day, but will make use f the electric hook up at each CC site. If insufficent, whats's the best solution: are we better to take another canister, buy a conversion valve for European usage or any other solution we don't know about?! Thanks in advance for helping two eager novices! Andrew and Sarah  

replied on 29/05/2016 18:25

Posted on 29/05/2016 18:25

If, as you say you are going to use the site electricity 2 cylinders should be more than ample. You should be able to use the hot water on electric and the fridge. So, the only thing to use gas will be the cooker and if you used a barbeque that might use some extra. But, you should be okay.

I am going away to germany for 3 weeks and I have about 7kg of gas and I reckon that will be enough.

Enjoy you time abroad.

AlanAlde53 replied on 29/05/2016 18:30

Posted on 29/05/2016 18:30

Hello Andrew and Sarah

We are currently in France for 9 weeks and are only carrying 6kg of gas and we expect to take most of it home. If you are always on electric it is surprising how little you use even with the oven being used most evenings. I would expect your consumption to be less than 2kg. If however you stay where there is no electric then others will be along soon to advise 

Andrew and Sarah replied on 29/05/2016 18:35

Posted on 29/05/2016 18:35

Thanks Ian and Alan, really helpful and kind of you both to reply so quickly.Sounds like we will be fine! Well, at least on the gas front anyway! Happy

Tinwheeler replied on 29/05/2016 18:59