Hook up cable

Bear dubbers replied on 01/03/2017 20:06

Posted on 01/03/2017 20:06

hello I am a complete novice camper and have just brought a camper van . Can anyone tell me if you have to own your own cable , or are they supplied on the pitch .

Also my van has an inverter and leisure battery fitted but I'm not sure how they work or the actual purpose of the inverter . Does the leisure battery only get charged up when it is hooked up to the mains . 

Thanks for any help 

KjellNN replied on 01/03/2017 20:28

Posted on 01/03/2017 20:28

Your van should come with a hook up cable, sites do not provide them.

If buying one, get a 25 meter one.

Battery will be charged on EHU, and while driving.

An inverter converts 12v from the battery to 230v to power mains appliances.

Vulcan replied on 01/03/2017 20:31

Posted on 01/03/2017 20:31

You need your own mains cable, usually 25m long available from any caravan accessory shop.

The purpose of an inverter is to convert 12vDC from your leisure battery  to 240vAC.

Depending on the make and model of your camper the leisure battery is usually charged when the vehicle  engine is running.

Bear dubbers replied on 01/03/2017 20:49

Posted on 01/03/2017 20:31 by Vulcan

You need your own mains cable, usually 25m long available from any caravan accessory shop.

The purpose of an inverter is to convert 12vDC from your leisure battery  to 240vAC.

Depending on the make and model of your camper the leisure battery is usually charged when the vehicle  engine is running.

Posted on 01/03/2017 20:49

Thanks . The inverter has an on and off switch . Do I leave this switched on all of the time . The sockets don't appear to work . Does this mean the leisure battery is faulty or discharged . If so is it ok to charge leisure battery as you would normally the car battery etc .

Where would be the best place to go for a new leisure battery if needs be . Cheers .

Navigateur replied on 01/03/2017 21:15

Posted on 01/03/2017 21:15