Hook up and leave at 2am or not

newtocaravaning19 replied on 03/08/2021 09:50

Posted on 03/08/2021 09:50

hi, 

Sorry if this is a daft question. I'm new to caravanning!

I'm setting off to Cornwall this week and want to leave at 2am to miss most of the traffic. 

Ideally id like to hook it up to the car on the drive, removing the wheel locks. That way when i get the family up to go at 2am when can jump in the car and set off without any hassle or messing about hooking up. 

if the van and car are locked is this safe to do so for a few hours or would people not recommend?

what does everyone else do when setting off in the middle of the night?

thanks in advance. 

D

Metheven replied on 03/08/2021 09:59

Posted on 03/08/2021 09:59

Although not having done this myself time wise, I see nothing wrong in doing what you plan. My only thing I would do to ensure safety is to recheck the 'hookup' is still secure, walk around the van for security rather than jump in the car and go.

Trailer to car security and light check is always top of the list just before driving away from home or site.

SteveL replied on 03/08/2021 10:01

Posted on 03/08/2021 10:01

Never left at that sort of time. However, I would have thought whatever devices your insurance requires for storage at your property would still need to be in place. Possibly wheel lock, hitch lock.  Certainly some policies require these to be fitted if leaving unattended at services.

Tinwheeler replied on 03/08/2021 10:10

Posted on 03/08/2021 10:10

Added to that, only you can assess the risk where you live as you know the area. 

Whittakerr replied on 03/08/2021 10:15

Posted on 03/08/2021 10:15

Oooo. Reading the title i thought this was going to about leaving site at 2.00am. I was looking forward to reading peoples comments on that proposal.cry

DSB replied on 03/08/2021 10:21

Posted on 03/08/2021 10:21