Help - fridge won't work on tow bar

Niamh01 replied on 27/07/2017 18:11

Posted on 27/07/2017 18:11

Just bought a new Xplore 304 & a new Jeep Cherokee to tow it. Fridge won't work on the tow bar (just bleeps etc.) & 12v supply is not shutting down on tow bar either as we are told it should. Caravan supplier has checked fridge on his machine that mimics a tow bar and works ok. Tow bar fitter says he has fitted it correctly but puzzled & says to bring back tomorrow. We are new to caravanning, can anyone help us please?!

Hugh & Emer

caravanerkarl replied on 27/07/2017 18:38

Posted on 27/07/2017 18:38

I'm not an expert in this field but did get some advice from our own approved service centre.

i asked about this as it would seem our fridge worked on one car but not the other, he said the 12v on newer vans and tow cars kick in a little different, but it works ok on the main town car we use so not too bothered. The other thing is it should only work while the car engine is running not just when connected.

any error code on the fridge panel if it has one, or beep code according the the manual.

Milothedog replied on 27/07/2017 20:05

Posted on 27/07/2017 20:05

Not sure if this helps but on my Freelander 2 with genuine Land Rover parts 13 pin euro socket fitted. the constant 12v is just that, constant, the fridge supply is only present with the engine running.

replied on 28/07/2017 07:29

Posted on 28/07/2017 07:29

Not sure if you are thinking that the fridge will run on 12v in the caravan when stationary. It wont. If it did it would drain a 12 volt battery in no time flat. 

My caravan fridge wont run on 12 volt when connected to the car as he 12 volt element does not appear to work. That is according to service engineer. I would not have known as I never switch to 12 volt when towing. I set off with fridge chilled at home where I store and as the fridge is a very efficient cool box I have no need to power it during travel.