Going Solo Newbie - Am I Mad?

ScreenName1C1A3D1078 replied on 25/05/2020 21:22

Posted on 25/05/2020 21:22

Hi Everyone, I have read earlier newbie posts and the helpful replies so won't ask same questions. But I have a slightly different situation - I have owned a caravan from new many years ago but my then husband did all the technical stuff. I am a confident driver, will do the courses but understandably lacking in confidence if I can now do all this on my ownundecided. Buying a new van is not an option, my budget is below £8k and want a smallish 4 berth probably with fixed bed rather than 2 berth?. I have got a damp meter and understand pro's and con's of private v. dealer. 

Am I being practical to think I can spend several months (in both winter and summer) living away in the van whilst working in the area? I think certified sites may be my best bet and hoping fees would average £100ish on average? I would also hope to start venturing onto the continent after a while. I love the attraction of the freedom it gives but its a lot to take on board on your own - honest but encouraging feedback welcome please.... 

stephen p replied on 30/05/2020 10:09

Posted on 30/05/2020 10:09

I hate to see a post from a new caravaner not being answered but I think the stumbling block is the encouraging bit.

Caravan club sites are, I believe, supposed to be for leisure purposes so working from site might not strictly be within the rules. I have however been on plenty of sites that, particularly off season, are filled with workers living in their vans.

You have not mentioned what sort of work you are planning or how long you would be at each site but, once again I believe, CL sites (probably best to pick sites with electric hook up) have a maximum stay of 21 days.