Caravan Club prices question

Dr Nigel replied on 01/02/2016 23:47

Posted on 01/02/2016 23:47

You must excuse me...I'm new to all of this, and want to ask a question that may sound naiive, but I genuinely don't know the answer...

I've been comparing the caravan club prices to equivalent French sites...what I don't understand is...

In France, wages of staff are higher, tax is higher and energy prices are lower, and they don't charge a membership fee...

So why are the French out of season prices nearly half of what the Caravan Club charge in the UK? 

Am I missing something?

DavidKlyne replied on 02/02/2016 00:04

Posted on 02/02/2016 00:04

I don't think you can compare as they are two different markets. If those French sites did not charge low prices they would be empty. They don't have the same touring tradition as the UK, certainly as far as caravans are concerned. Its one of the reasons you are seeing and increasing number of mobile home variants on French campsites as the French are now more inclined to hire something rather than take their own caravan. Years ago they would place their van onsite for up to three months but that tradition seems to be fading away now. Out of season you tend to see more French motorhomes using sites. We stayed at a site on the outskirts of Limoges at the beginning of October last year. It cost £12 a night but had only a dozen or so units on site. The Club site at York is always full despite the prices. It was also not long ago that the Club site were not making a profit but a small loss so another reason for prices being higher here.

David

richardandros replied on 02/02/2016 06:28

Posted on 02/02/2016 06:28