And the towbar issue....

EverySecondCounts replied on 27/04/2021 19:00

Posted on 27/04/2021 19:00

Hi all - the Mrs rather enthusiastically last week booked a caravan slot, which we are supposedly heading to tomorrow.

Now, this booking was on the day we took posession of the caravan - last Wednesday.

The towbar is due to be fitted to the i800 tomorrow, but the mechanic has called to say his electrics guy cannot make the appointment due to illness, the earliest he can manage is Friday, which is a bit annoying, but we were cutting the timeline *extremely finely* in my opinion.

The mechanic can fit the towbar - my question is, can I fit the electrics?  It's a dedicated electric set for the car, and according to the site I bought it from (pfjones) it doesn't require the car to be reprogrammed / updated.  The car is almost as ancient as I am, so there's no warranty issue.

I'm a programmer, relative is an electrical engineer, I'm wondering if between us we have what it takes?  The kit looks like 'plug-and-play', - willing to be taken to task for over-simplifying the situation though?

Any recommendations folks?

Thanks

EmilysDad replied on 27/04/2021 19:06

Posted on 27/04/2021 19:06

I can't recommend ... but how hard can it be? 😉 I'm sure that people of your calibre will manage to sort it.  

Tinwheeler replied on 27/04/2021 19:07

Posted on 27/04/2021 19:07

I think I would amend my site booking, ESC.

Sorry, I can’t help with your query. You need to establish if you’re going to interfere with the car's canbus system among the many other things to be considered. Only you know if you have the knowledge and skills.

JVB66 replied on 27/04/2021 19:19

Posted on 27/04/2021 19:19

There may just be some one on youtube who has already done as you want ,give that a try with your car modelsurprised

SkynInUp replied on 28/04/2021 00:35

Posted on 28/04/2021 00:35