1997 Carver Water Heater Fault

SmilerGem replied on 19/08/2017 15:31

Posted on 19/08/2017 15:31

Hi All,

I'm new to caravanning and have just purchased my very first caravan, a lightweight 1997 Lunar Meteor, to see if we like caravan adventures. The van had a leak which was fixed by a mobile repair company last week and we now have running water, hurrah! However, our excitement was short lived as the heater failed to heat the water and the fault light came on on the electric control panel. 

Am I doing something wrong? There's a switch on the front panel of the seating bench where the plumbing is, which I assume is like an immersion heater switch, so tried it with and without that switched on. We can get water out of the hot tap but it just won't heat up. 

Does anyone have any advice please? I'm an absolute beginner so have no idea if there are little switches or processes I should be following so please take your advice right back to basics as I know nothing!

Thanks in advance :)

DavidKlyne replied on 19/08/2017 16:34

Posted on 19/08/2017 16:34

Do you know the model of the heater. If it's a Cascade there is a small swing cover on the front of the heater and under this is a reset button. Have you checked the valve that empties the heater of water is closed? The valve is a paddle and in the upright position it will empty the water and the closed position is flat to the pipe. This valve is usually in the vicinity of the heater on the floor. If neither of those suggestions solve the problem them perhaps as a last resort empty the water heater and refill just in case there is an airlock.

David

Freelander359 replied on 19/08/2017 16:37

Posted on 19/08/2017 16:37

Hi and welcome to the wonderful world of caravanning !

I'm sorry I'm not technical - hopefully someone who is will come along shortly and help you. In the meantime I googled it and found this.

Hope it helps.

SmilerGem replied on 20/08/2017 10:40

Posted on 20/08/2017 10:40