Yet another Newbie

stevech51 replied on 14/09/2018 09:28

Posted on 14/09/2018 09:28

Hello there.

We are total newbie's to this hobby and more than ready to embrace it in our retirement. So is it Motorhome or Caravan? We are going to hire a motorhome to give that a try first and during the period of hire go to Motorhome and Caravan show at the NEC.  Done a lot of reading and online searching. I am sure this has been asked many times before; what are the pros and cons and what are the pitfalls to look out for.

We are eager to learn from the experience's of those who have gone before us.

Steve & Julie

lornalou1 replied on 14/09/2018 11:23

Posted on 14/09/2018 11:23

With a caravan you can still us car to get out and about, where as a motorhome you leave the pitch so basically have to pack away again as if you were going home or a mess will follow, unless you tow another small vehicle behind you. plus there usually is more room in a caravan. there is also the fact is your car big enough to tow a caravan. all down to personal preference.

HelenandTrevor replied on 14/09/2018 17:11

Posted on 14/09/2018 17:11

Hi Steve and Julie, welcome to CT, Agree it's a good idea to hire a motorhome to see how you like it. Have fun looking at all the options at the NEC show.smile

Tinwheeler replied on 14/09/2018 17:22

Posted on 14/09/2018 17:22

Ah, but with a caravan you have lots of things to pack up - aquaroll, wastemaster, EHU cable, corner steadies to wind and the van to hitch to the car. With a MH you put the kettle away and pick up the EHU cable, set off and enjoy your day heading for the next site to spend the following night with no need to return to 'base'. 

In a caravan you have to fetch and carry your fresh and grey water while, in a MH, you can stop at the dedicated MH service point when entering/leaving the site and 'do' your tanks.