Newbie here

MX Dad replied on 24/12/2019 15:27

Posted on 24/12/2019 15:27

Hi all,

I have just bought a new unicorn Pamplona last Thursday, we Stayed on the dealers site for two nights to get used to the van, no issues found during the first stay, towed home fine all 6 hours of the journey.🙈

I did notice that the atc and fridge didn’t work while hooked up so I’m assuming there’s an issue with my 13 pin tow electrics. There’s no constant live at the tow plug currently-Will investigate further this week.

Also I noticed today that my fridge and freezer aren’t cold at all, the van is plugged into the mains at home and has been since Saturday afternoon, all other electrics seems to be working fine. Firstly my caravan is parked in my steep drive so is not level, could this be the reason for lack of cooling?

Also done a bit of research and the Dometic RM8551 fridge freezer has a pretty poor reputation as far as cooling goes. Sorry for the war and peace first post but after shelling out £23,500 for a new caravan I’m a bit concerned with having a crappy fridge which doesn’t seem fit for function going by multiple posts and reviews. Any advice/help will be gratefully received.

MX Dad

Wherenext replied on 02/01/2020 19:16

Posted on 02/01/2020 19:16

You must think we're an unfriendly lot on here. 

Welcome to caravanning.

You can buy a gadget from caravan dealers to check if your 13 pin is working or not.

As for your fridge problem can I suggest you start a new thread in the Caravan section, where your problem will almost certainly elicit responses. If it's a new van I think Dometic will send an engineer out to you.

Once again, apologies for delay in replying. I think it's been fairly quiet on the forum due to Christmas and the holiday period.

Apperley replied on 02/01/2020 23:14

Posted on 02/01/2020 23:14