New member introductions

Complete My Profile
Dismiss
Next Step: Optional Profile Information
Your profile is 50% complete!

Advice please - We have decided to take the plunge and buy a caravan
By Jc77, 17 hours 

Hello everyone 

A total newbie to the caravan world and am clueless really although I have been doing plenty of reading but my head is spinning a bit with all we need to know.

My wife and I have decided to take the plunge and buy a caravan very shortly.   We have 3 young girls,  oldest is seven so we are looking at a 5 berth. We have a budget of £10000 or so. Can I get a decent caravan for this price that will last a good few years? What age of a caravan is acceptable? I have a Kia carens 2016 so I think I should be able to tow no bother. I have been quoted £450 for a tow bar supplied and fitted (is this a reasonable price?) 

I don't know if we should buy it from a dealer or go private. I travel between Ireland and UK at the moment and would be willing to travel  anywhere in the UK and Ireland to buy one.  Any recommendations? 

All advice and tips would be greatly appreciated 

Thanks all

greenysuz replied on 25/04/2018 19:53

Posted on 25/04/2018 19:53

Hi, you really need to find out what the towing weight limit is for your car firstly. If you do decide to buy privately then you need to do your research. I would go around as many dealers as you can just to see whats out there as vans can vary in condition & price etc. It would help if you could could take an experienced caravanner with you as they would know what to look for. Damp is the main thing to look for but also check if they have been regularly serviced. You can always check with CRIS when buying privately fo find out if its been stolen written off,finance etc. I have just had a towbar fitted on my S-Max for £300 with 13pin socket. But quotes were as high as £400, you can find a fitter through NTTA.

nelliethehooker replied on 25/04/2018 20:23

Posted on 25/04/2018 20:23