Lee hill replied on 10/10/2018 11:03

Posted on 10/10/2018 11:03

Hello all

Hi sorry if i have done this wrong i am new to all this.

We have just bought our first motor home its a Auto-trail Cheyenne 840 can anyone give me any advise on what to look out for

So looking forward getting out and about  

cyberyacht replied on 10/10/2018 11:20

Posted on 10/10/2018 11:20

What to look out for? Confined spaces and how to avoid them. wink That's a very palatial rig you've got yourself there.

Tinwheeler replied on 10/10/2018 16:28

Posted on 10/10/2018 16:28

That's some gihuge MH, Lee. Watch out for grounding and swing on that rear overhang.

Welcome and enjoy your trips away.

peedee replied on 11/10/2018 07:24

Posted on 11/10/2018 07:24

Welcome, nice outfit. As you won't find it too easy to park it off sites chose your sites carefully so they are near public transport and think about getting alternative means of transport .e.g. bikes. If you haven't got one already, get yourselve a sat nav to help you avoid low bridges and unsuitable roads. Make sure it is one which lets you define your motorhome size and weight and preferred roads.

peedee

Apperley replied on 14/10/2018 18:16

Posted on 14/10/2018 18:16

Big motorhome. Plan your routes. Have a look at site directions online. Have a look at google street view for the last mile. Never trust a Satnav 100%, always read the road signs. 

Remember at slow speeds your rear end will pivot out on you rear wheels and you can’t see that in your mirrors. There are some good YouTube tutorials mainly based on American RVs but still good.

if you have a passenger on board get them out to direct you when reversing, and watch for tree branches or overhead obstacles that don’t apply to a car.

in terms of ‘what to look out for’, think what tools you need to take for breakdown or repair and have a security plan.

young thomas replied on 17/10/2018 08:22

Posted on 17/10/2018 08:22