Hi from Holland

Esther70 replied on 22/11/2017 21:36

Posted on 22/11/2017 21:36

Hi people,

I'm Esther, and I'm from Holland ( so excuses for my bad English)

I'm completely new in caravanning and me and my husband want to buy our first caravan next week in the UK.

We traveling to the UK for 15 years now, and always had done B&B, but that's so expensive that we decide to buy a caravan.

What I understand was , that we have to display the same registration plate as the car, only in Holland the display from a caravan or trailer is white with black letters and numbers, will that be a problem ?

I'm also looking for a undercover storage in South or Mid Wales, but they are hard to find or very expensive.

Do people have suggestions for that ?

nelliethehooker replied on 22/11/2017 21:55

Posted on 22/11/2017 21:55

Hi Esther, welcome to CT. Don't worry about your English....it's better than some on herewink Hope that you find a caravan to suit you. It is true that the caravan has to display the same number as the tow car. However I'm not sure if that would apply to your car as it will have a Dutch number plate. It might be best if you contact our licensing authority, the DVLA. Hope that this link works. https://www.gov.uk/contact-the-dvla

Edit: I have made the above link active.  Regards David ((DSB)

KjellNN replied on 22/11/2017 22:16

Posted on 22/11/2017 22:16

I  have read a little about going the other way.....a UK resident buying a caravan in Holland , but then bringing it to UK , so not quite the same. 

It seems to be a bit of a minefield and complicated with  the way insurance here and in Holland operates.

Esther......as storage may be quite expensive, and to avoid complications, would it not be easier to register a caravan in Holland and spend the money on a ferry ticket instead of storage?

Oneputt replied on 22/11/2017 22:53

Posted on 22/11/2017 22:53