Hello and probably cheerio for now

Baymare replied on 20/07/2017 15:40

Posted on 20/07/2017 15:40

Hi,

I am new to this sight and joined mainly to get info on caravaning. As a retired guy of some 3 years whos hobby has been mainly horse riding but needing something that both could share i thought about a caravan. As we have a honda crv 2003 runabout i thought great i could look for a light 2 berth much older used caravan to get the hang of it i am pretty could with horse trailers.

As i delved into the weights etc i thought the crv towing capacity would be fine for our needs however it was some way down the investigation i noticed the nose weight was 60kg which as far as i can see rules a 2003 crv out of towing anything more than an empty wheel barrow.

So folks hello and if any of you have any advice on this subject i would appreciate it before i start thinking about binning the old run about or just go back to horse riding without towing it to competitions. Sad thing is a binned a not bad Shogun as i didnt think i would need it.

So folks any advice would be welcome as i might have to sleep with the horse if somebody doesnt in this house doesnt get her way.

cheers

young thomas replied on 25/07/2017 17:26

Posted on 25/07/2017 17:26

if youre used to driving a horsebox vehicle (not sure if you are...) perhaps you'd be comfortable with a campervan in lieu of having to change youre tow car for something bigger and then might not take to it.

if you looked at vans at the cheaper end, there is a price that they wont go below, so getting your money back should be straight forward.

good luck

Oneputt replied on 25/07/2017 19:49

Posted on 25/07/2017 19:49

Welcome baymare.  You don't say if your CRV is petrol or diesel.  My CRV has a nose weight of 100kg.  Even quite small cars have nose weights approaching 75kg so might be worth checking again.  Don't be put off from this great pastime at the first hurdle.

Pippah45 replied on 26/07/2017 09:58