Complete Novices pick up caravan tomorrow!

replied on 14/04/2017 16:39

Posted on 14/04/2017 16:39

Hi everyone, I have been searching this site for any guidance and advice as we have just bought our first caravan.  It's an Elddis xl hurricane (fab condition but old) and it's to see if we like caravaning. We have often stayed in a static which we love but this will be our first time touring.  We have no idea what we are doing so should be funsmile  Any tips are welcome laughing

ChrisRogers replied on 14/04/2017 16:48

Posted on 14/04/2017 16:48

Hi, You will need a good set of towing mirrors, noseweight gauge, see if you can get a starter pack off your dealer i.e. gas cylinder, water and waste containers. Then you will need a good torque wrench, pots, pans things to eat and drink with not forgetting the cork screw. Then just get out and enjoy.

Bakers2 replied on 14/04/2017 16:50

Posted on 14/04/2017 16:50

Hello and welcome to CT and to our great hobby.

You'll find lots of good advice on this site but the search facility is appalling 😉. 

My first question to you is have you towed before?

General suggestion is to try out your unit as soon as you can, for warranty purposes if you have one. Age doesn't matter new vans have lots of extras which some of us reckon are unnecessary 😉.  Pick a site close to home, you can nip back for anything vital you've forgotten. DON'T go mad buying too much before you try out. Have a pen and paper and note things you'd like or are necessities. Weight is an issue 😉.

Ask any questions we were all beginners once!

Enjoy your new hobby. 

JVB66 replied on 14/04/2017 17:45

Posted on 14/04/2017 17:45

Are you buying from a dealer or private if a dealer get them to check age of tyres and put new ones on if private or ask when last replaced

N1805 replied on 14/04/2017 19:43

Posted on 14/04/2017 19:43