Complete beginner

Marvin55 replied on 27/07/2017 09:02

Posted on 27/07/2017 09:02

Hi

Having camped for many years, we are now coming to the time of our lives when pitching a large tent is getting increasingly difficult.

We are now looking at getting a caravan and would like as many hints and tips as possible

My first questions are 'Do we just buy a cheap caravan that matches our current car to test the water?'

What roughly are the insurance and storage fees

what else do we really need to know

thanks in advance

Debbie & Lee

Milothedog replied on 27/07/2017 17:09

Posted on 27/07/2017 17:09

I did this, (bought an older one first) you need to consider how much of a hit you can take if you decided to use it as a PX for an upgrade if like it. I think I got lucky. I lost £1500 in the 1st year so not too bad. 

Buying from a dealer gives you piece of mind but cost more, buying private is cheaper but have it inspected first by a professional.

I would also suggest you sort out storage before you buy. Depending on where you live, storage can range from £ 300 to over £1000 a year.

Insurance is relative to the caravans age and value and where you keep it and how secure the site is.

Iansmile

moulesy replied on 27/07/2017 17:17

Posted on 27/07/2017 17:17

Hi D & L - like you, we gravitated to a van after many years of camping. We started out with a tiny van - I seem to remember something like 300/2 and have gradually upgraded over the years. If you have a couple of local dealerships near you it's worth going for a mooch around - there are some great 2nd hand bargains to be had out there and with a dealer you can be pretty sure the van will have been serviced and damp checked (most important when buying 2nd hand) and you might even get a 12 month warranty or a starter pack of things you'll need but may not have thought of - eg battery, steps, water pump etc.