Sailing on The Fal

TonyBurton replied on 05/07/2019 20:54

Posted on 05/07/2019 20:54

I wanted to highlight our recent sailing trip on the Fal Estuary. We were able to hire a Cornish Shrimper. A neat little gaff rigged cruiser with a small cuddy for two. Although I have 60 years of sailing experience I have no RYA qualifications. They were quite happy for me to hire their boat. We stayed nearby on a CL at Restronguet Barton. The Fal Estuary must have some of the best sailing waters in England. We were also able to sail across the bay to The Helford River. It was a memorable time for us, reliving some of our sailor trailing days before we reverted to caravanning. You can enjoy trips around the Fal on the many ferries running out from Falmouth Pier or the Falmouth Quay.

Moderator Edit:

Part of your post has been Deleted User as it's against our T&Cs to advertise.

richardandros replied on 06/07/2019 06:41

Posted on 06/07/2019 06:41

Gosh - you were brave taking your caravan there!!cool. We were staying at Carnon Downs just over a week ago and had a trip out to the Pandora one day (we stayed in a cottage next door to it, 5 years ago).  Lovely spot. It's one area I've never sailed in.

brue replied on 06/07/2019 08:02

Posted on 06/07/2019 08:02

It's a CL we would use and is in a good spot, you could trailer a boat down there and they'll store it for you. Nice to hear about your stay. 

TonyBurton replied on 06/07/2019 15:24

Posted on 06/07/2019 07:52 by cyberyacht

Sounds tempting. I still get withdrawal symptoms from time to time.

Posted on 06/07/2019 15:24

I know the feeling Cyberyacht. I'm not allowed to mention the boat yard on the quay at Mylor. You'll just have to browse Cornish Shrimper.

BTW we've also met our sailing craving by hiring a couple of half deckers on the Norfolk Broads. There's a CL at Eastwoods Whelpton right next to two beautiful wooden gaff half deckers. The CL owner will be able to help you.

TonyBurton replied on 06/07/2019 15:44