Father of the Bride

dennisd replied on 06/03/2018 12:07

Posted on 06/03/2018 12:07

A very nervous time for me this week. My daughter is getting married on Friday, I've got my speech prepared but a seed of doubt has been sown in my mind. When I open my speech I welcome the guests on behalf of myself, my wife and the groom's mother and father. My question is - do I also include the bride and groom in my welcome or do I leave that for the groom?

Rocky 2 buckets replied on 06/03/2018 13:57

Posted on 06/03/2018 13:57

I’m no expert DD but because it’s their day, & they are what it’s all about I don’t think you can give them too many name checks & shout outs. I’d give em a mention, the more fuss the better๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ˜Š

DavidKlyne replied on 06/03/2018 15:54

Posted on 06/03/2018 15:54

Why not at the outset just say " On the occasion of Jane and Tom's wedding (using their real names of course!!!) I would like to welcome our guests etc etc. That would be an easy way to get them mentioned? However you do it you have to be comfortable with it. 

David

KjellNN replied on 06/03/2018 18:06

Posted on 06/03/2018 15:25 by Navigateur

Welcome the Bride and Groom first.  After all, you are paying for it so you can do what you want.

Posted on 06/03/2018 18:06

That is somewhat  "old hat" these days, many couples pay for their wedding themselves, especially if they want something more expensive than the parents can afford!

Our daughter and SIL issued their own invitations and organised everything themselves, and saved up for it.  The in laws contributed as a gift and because they wanted to have a huge number of family and friends there.

I welcomed everyone on behalf of the bride and groom

DSB replied on 06/03/2018 18:38

Posted on 06/03/2018 18:38

KjellNN said: I welcomed everyone on behalf of the bride and groom

As far as I remember that's what I did.

David

Wherenext replied on 06/03/2018 18:49

Posted on 06/03/2018 18:49