Devon/Cornwall sites with good road access

SPR1968 replied on 02/07/2022 08:27

Posted on 02/07/2022 08:27

Hi Guys

I’m relatively new to towing but have a fairly large rig, a big Range Rover tow car and 8ft wide 27ft long Bailey Alicanto caravan on the back. 

I’m spent my childhood in Devon on holidays and want to go there, or Cornwall, but am very wary about the narrow roads and there is no way I feel comfortable taking my outfit down there   I did it with a small caravan 20 years ago but that was tiny!

Has anyone been to sites which are located just off major roads with easy access ?

Tinwheeler replied on 02/07/2022 08:51

Posted on 02/07/2022 08:51

You are right to be wary. In terms of club sites, Carnon Downs near Truro has good access right off the main road and Godrevy Park at Hayle is doable - check Google Earth.  In Devon, Stover non facility site is similarly positioned just off a good road.

That's off the top of my head and there will be others.

allanandjean replied on 02/07/2022 08:53

Posted on 02/07/2022 08:53

Hi SPR, Yes, seen lots!
What I don’t know however, is how you define a major road or what your requirements are for the site itself??

If you look along the A30 corridor there are quite a few sites that may suit you.

I suggest thinking where you’ll like to be based then have a look on Google maps and, if not clear, Streetview to see if the access is acceptable to you.

Then it’s a question of will any shortlisted sites be willing to take a van of your size and that raises the question of when as peak season will likely come with much less choice.

Goog luck, and maybe comeback with more info which will help people make suggestions.

brue replied on 02/07/2022 09:14

Posted on 02/07/2022 09:14