Tyre Repair Sealant

JohnM20 replied on 25/02/2020 11:23

Posted on 25/02/2020 11:23

I have no experience of using tyre repair sealant but need some advice for a friend. The friend's daughter had a puncture several months ago and it was repaired with sealant on the roadside. Since then she has done nothing about getting the tyre properly repaired despite concerned  reminders from her parents, (she has usually got a very young child and dog in the car with her). The only answer they get is that her husband, who knows nothing about cars and only very recently learned to drive, keeps telling her it will be alright. Personally I think it should have been properly repaired but who is right?. 

Metheven replied on 25/02/2020 11:29

Posted on 25/02/2020 11:29

The parents, and divorce the husband.

Though I have never had to use my sealant, if I did then in my eyes it is only a temporary repair, and if legally repairable I would get it done properly ASAP or replace the tyre if a repair cannot be done.

Some tyre outlets will repair a sealant tyre and some won't, but it is well known as only a temporary fix.

replied on 25/02/2020 11:39

Posted on 25/02/2020 11:39

The user and all related content has been Deleted User

SteveL replied on 25/02/2020 12:01

Posted on 25/02/2020 12:01

From the AA website

Post-puncture sealants

With these, the hope is that you’ve spotted a puncture and stopped before the tyre has overheated or become shredded to pieces on the wheel rim.

The sealant is injected through the tyre valve and the compressor or cylinder of compressed gas is used to (hopefully) re-inflate the tyre.
Handy if you regularly drive alone, but won’t work for all punctures.

Permanent or temporary?

Whatever type of sealant you use, it can’t be considered a permanent repair because the tyre’s not been taken off the wheel to check for internal damage.