Towing with a VW transporter conversion or similar

Lord2david replied on 20/09/2020 13:35

Posted on 20/09/2020 13:35

Hi, 

We are looking to change our towcar. We have a 2018 Twin Axle Lunar Delta with weight upgrade to 1800kg. Does anyone tow with VW transporter conversion or Mercedes Benz Vito Conversion? 
seeing more caravans being towed by these type of vehicles nowadays. Looking to keep within 85% rule ( although experienced). Wanting something that’s heavy and powerful enough, with good storage at the back for large Awning, chairs, beach gear etc. Comfortable seating for all essential, basic facilities for day use mainly.  Whole Topic seems a minefield, so any advice would be very helpful. 
Many thanks. 

David 

Tinwheeler replied on 20/09/2020 13:48

Posted on 20/09/2020 13:48

I’m sure that was a slip of the finger and you realise 85% is only guidance rather than a rule.

I've no direct experience of the vans you mention but, as I read your words, twin cab puck-ups sprang into my mind. Have you considered these? Comfortable car like seating, massive pulling/towing power and huge load space. A Truckman top completes the outfit.

JVB66 replied on 20/09/2020 14:45

Posted on 20/09/2020 14:45

I take it you are going for a "campervan" when you say a conversion,just note that many conversions are on "small" engine versions unless you are going for your own spec ,but  kerb weight wise there should be no trouble towing your twin axle

Tinwheeler replied on 20/09/2020 15:28

Posted on 20/09/2020 14:45 by JVB66

I take it you are going for a "campervan" when you say a conversion,just note that many conversions are on "small" engine versions unless you are going for your own spec ,but  kerb weight wise there should be no trouble towing your twin axle

Posted on 20/09/2020 15:28