Storage of our Caravan

nossys replied on 29/09/2016 13:21

Posted on 29/09/2016 13:21

We are currently keeping our caravan on our front garden our neighbour has complained.  our deed are as follows:   No wooden hut, shed caravan, house on wheels,adaped for or intended as a dwelling or sleeping room shall be errected placed or used or permitted to be errected placed or used upon the said land or any part thereof.  what are your interpretations of these deeds.  Thanks in advance for any help

Simon100 replied on 29/09/2016 20:07

Posted on 29/09/2016 20:07

It would appear that your deeds prohibit storing your caravan on your garden. However what are the neighbours going to do about it? Who are they going to complain to? Who is going to enforce any action if they do complain?

The ball would appear to be in their court so it might be worth just sitting it out and seeing what happens.

KeithandMargaret replied on 29/09/2016 20:25

Posted on 29/09/2016 20:25

I'm no lawyer, I'm too honest, but it seems to be a clause to stop you actually sleeping in the vehicle alongside your house not to actually own and keep a vehicle and park it there.

Barrackroom Lawyers - your opinion?

ValDa replied on 29/09/2016 20:40

Posted on 29/09/2016 20:40

A caravan is intended as a sleeping space and therefore contravenes the covenant, even if it's only 'placed' there and you don't actually sleep in it when it's parked in the garden.

We have the same covenant on our house - but we chose to stay friends with our neighbours and store our caravan elsewhere.  At the end of the day we prefer to live happily here with no cause for dispute.

Wildwood replied on 29/09/2016 21:15

Posted on 29/09/2016 21:15