Caravan Security

Jobosan replied on 07/09/2019 21:50

Posted on 07/09/2019 21:50

i am new to touring. I have just brought a new caravan. Early in 2020 I want to start touring in Europe. Being a solo caravaner I wanted some advice on security in all aspects please? On occasion I will be off grid.

peedee replied on 08/09/2019 07:15

Posted on 08/09/2019 07:15

When off grid do not stay on the Autoroute aires especially those on toll free routes near major cities and borders. These areas seem to be the ones where most trouble occurs.

Keep valuables out of site and be wary of distraction thefts when travelling. If flagged down don't stop unless you recognise the request to be from a uniformed policeman.

Keep emergency numbers for the countries you are in on a card handy, you never know when you may need them.

In spite of all the stories circulated, you will be very unlucky to have problems. In over 30 years of touring I have never had a problem, just be as cautious as you would in this country. Safe travelling.

peedee

SeasideBill replied on 08/09/2019 10:50

Posted on 08/09/2019 10:50

Good advice from peedee. In addition, a safe securely mounted to the floor/chassis will probably keep things like a mobile phone, credit cards, vehicle documents and passports safe from all but the most committed of thieves. Won’t stop them breaking in but will make the aftermath much easier to deal with.

Be very suspicious of vans parked up in rest areas etc with Romanian plates and the windows obscured. 

If you’re going be doing plenty of off grid, consider investing in a refillable gas system.

lornalou1 replied on 08/09/2019 13:00

Posted on 08/09/2019 10:50 by SeasideBill

Good advice from peedee. In addition, a safe securely mounted to the floor/chassis will probably keep things like a mobile phone, credit cards, vehicle documents and passports safe from all but the most committed of thieves. Won’t stop them breaking in but will make the aftermath much easier to deal with.