Buying second hand sat navs - lifetime maps

Henk de Geus replied on 30/04/2019 18:19

Posted on 30/04/2019 18:19

This is my first post so please be gentle. 

I’m looking to purchase a sat nav.

As I’m new to caravanning, I’d like to buy second hand where possible to keep costs down. 

I’m very interested in the Avtex Tourer One Caravan and Motorhome Club edition. 

Has anyone purchased the Avtex Tourer One Caravan and Motorhome Club edition second hand and successfully registered it to themselves to continue receiving lifetime map updates. 

Not sure whether the maps element is transferable.

I contacted Avtex but they stated the maps element is with Garmin. 

Tried phoning Garmin but got a voice message that their phone line was not available. To email them you need a serial number.

They don’t make it easy.

Thanks in advance for advice. 

Henk

Tinwheeler replied on 30/04/2019 18:43

Posted on 30/04/2019 18:43

To be honest, I don’t think the club’s edition of the sat nav is worth the money.

I would buy a new but cheaper version in your situation.

To update maps you need a Garmin account and, if a sat nav is registered on someone else's account, you are going to have difficulties.

Also, people tend to dispose of sat navs if they’re old or giving trouble so you could be buying trouble.

cyberyacht replied on 01/05/2019 07:42

Posted on 01/05/2019 07:42

I have an old TomTom 700 which I bought s/h off Ebay about nine years ago. The maps have never been updated and now this model is not even supported. Still works pretty well and better than the built -in TomTom on my Peugeot MH which seems to have some really funny ideas about routes.

replied on 01/05/2019 07:58

Posted on 01/05/2019 07:58

To update maps you need a Garmin account and, if a sat nav is registered on someone else's account, you are going to have difficulties.