Truma Error code 6

Autotrail johnnie replied on 16/03/2021 14:16

Posted on 16/03/2021 14:16

Help.
My Truma combi cuts out a minute or so after starting listing "error code 6"
I've contacted Truma who say it's combustion air motor and to take it to a dealer to check 12v supply and get it replaced.
As an engineer I'm confident I can change the component but Truma refuse to send me a wiring diagram to enable me to just check the inputs to confirm the failure. (Not impressed)
Has anybody else had this issue? I'm loath to spend £250 to £300 for the part without checking the basics first.

Tinwheeler replied on 16/03/2021 15:12

Posted on 16/03/2021 15:12

Have you checked online? There are loads of hits for the fault codes and you might find a wiring diagram.

EmilysDad replied on 16/03/2021 16:03

Posted on 16/03/2021 16:03

a very quick Google found this ... (I'm sure there must be more) but it could be the fan motor is partially seized 🤷‍♂️ If you're lucky, it might be fixed with a squirt of lube. Could you put 12 volts directly across it to prove the actual motor?

Autotrail johnnie replied on 16/03/2021 16:21

Posted on 16/03/2021 16:21

Fans certainly not seized and this is on hook up so voltage should be good.
Unfortunatly the motor is inclusive of it's own Cct board so not easy to just put the supply across as it uses other inputs.
Gonna have to bite the bullet and take a chance on replacing the unit I suppose.

Autotrail johnnie replied on 05/04/2021 12:57

Posted on 05/04/2021 12:57

Update incase anybody else suffers this fault.

Spoke to Truma who confirmed it may be the combustion air motor as above but said I should take it to a dealer as it needed to be electrically checked to confirm. I asked them for a wiring diagram but they refused to send me one as I haven't been trained by them.
I carried out basic voltage checks and con checked the cable and it all looked good to me so I got a used unit of e-bay for £85. (they seem to be between £250-300 new)