Should I fit an inverter to my Bailey Motorhome?

admiral halsey replied on 01/02/2017 19:23

Posted on 01/02/2017 19:23

Hi everyone and thanks for reading my thread. I've been a member here for over 3yrs now. I have a subscription to a well known Motorhome forum but, alas, I have been locked out more than I have been able to log-in!

Today I have proudly taken ownership of a 2014 model, Bailey Approach compact 540(the one with the electric drop down bed, and without a "garage")

So, I was working my way around her, getting to know a bit more about her. She has been fitted with a solar panel. However, there is no inverter. The TV has  three pin and "cigarette lighter" plugs(used when EHU is absent). Without EHU all of the three pins are dead. In my old Arapahoe, I had an inverter, feeding a single dedicated socket.

So, the question is, am I missing something here? I tried a low wattage hair dryer in all of the sockets and then in the TV and Cab "lighter" sockets(I have a three pin inverter my kids used for game boys whilst travelling in the car). Unfortunately, whilst the light indicated this inverter was working, the hairdryer made not a sound.

I am not particularly technically minded, but not a thickie either. I recently fitted a solar panel and charge controller to my departed Arapahoe.

I would not be looking to rewire the entire MH, just fit an inverter with an integral three pin socket. Glad to hear members thoughts and suggestions.

AH

ABM replied on 01/02/2017 20:30

Posted on 01/02/2017 20:30

The  need  for  an  inverter  depends  on  where  you 

do  your  caravanning,  Sir !  If  you  spend  your  time 

on  C.C.    or  similar  sites then  the  provision  of  E H U  

would  mean  your  needs  for  240v  are  filled  surely  ??

hitchglitch replied on 03/02/2017 08:23

Posted on 01/02/2017 19:23 by admiral halsey