Re-gluing wood effect fascia covers

salsa66 replied on 20/04/2018 17:22

Posted on 20/04/2018 17:22

I'm looking for advice; I have a Devon Tempest which we bought new just under 18months ago. lovely van great fun and easy to use. the only bug bear is the walnut effect facia surround on the dash board which peels of at the first sign of a warm day. Dealer has re-applied  with the same effect. Devon have stooped using the stuff due to this. Anyone else with the same problem who could offer advice? "Mitre Glue" has been suggested. I have even thought of removing the whole lot but it does look quite nice when attached. any advice will be appreciated.  

HOTORMOMER replied on 30/04/2018 17:58

Posted on 30/04/2018 17:58

Hi salsa66. I used to work in the kitchen cabinet trade and this happened quite often. I got over it by using white p.v.a. wood glue spread on both surfaces and applied heat via an ordinary household iron! You need to place some plain paper on the veneer that's lifted to avoid melting it - assuming it's plastic and then just 'iron' it over. This worked particularly well on the ends of worktops.  I realize there might not be much maneuvering room around dials, switches etc. so might not be too successful. Can you try an area that's not very visible first?

ForestR replied on 03/05/2018 09:52

Posted on 03/05/2018 09:52

I did as Hotormomer suggests over 20 years ago on a caravan with edging strips detaching and they never came off again.

The stuff on telly is Gorilla glue or double sided tape which I also used last year to attach some Velcro and that has also stayed in place.

nelliethehooker replied on 03/05/2018 22:05

Posted on 03/05/2018 09:52 by ForestR

I did as Hotormomer suggests over 20 years ago on a caravan with edging strips detaching and they never came off again.

The stuff on telly is Gorilla glue or double sided tape which I also used last year to attach some Velcro and that has also stayed in place.

Posted on 03/05/2018 22:05