Mobile habitation check

robinofstackpole replied on 24/05/2020 13:26

Posted on 24/05/2020 13:26

Hi, as I'm fairly new to motorhoming, only picked up Sparkly June last year, has anyone got any recommendations for mobile habitation checks in the Leicester /Hinckley area.

Robin 

CAG replied on 24/05/2020 15:17

Posted on 24/05/2020 15:17

Hiya,

We used a company called HabCheck last year, they were very thorough & competitively priced.

They give you a comprehensive report and a video aswell if I remember correctly.

They are still working at this time & have strict adherence to the “rules” during their inspection.

We live in Staffordshire, but I believe they cover all over the country.

regards

Luckyskip

Graydjames replied on 24/05/2020 16:28

Posted on 24/05/2020 16:28

Hi

I have used two different mobile caravan and motorhome repairs and servicing businesses. Cartabout Caravans - a business run by a guy called Stuart Cart and the other was Neil Jacques T/A Neil the Caravan Medic; both are based close to Leicester.

The latter was more expensive but definitely seemed to have a more professional set up.

It is hard to judge the quality of service on something like this (especially as I am clueless when it comes to the inner workings of habitation systems), but both did an adequate job as far as I could tell and I would not recommend one above the other. 

There is another chap based in Burbage which, as you mentioned Hinckley, might be of interest. He trades as Chris's Caravan Services.  But I have not used him myself.

I am not sure if we are supposed to give contact details - indeed I am not entirely sure we are allowed to promote at all - but hopefully no harm done as I mentioned all I know and you'll find all their contact details with a Google search. 

Graydjames replied on 05/06/2020 19:19

Posted on 05/06/2020 19:19

Disappointing to get no response whatsoever from OP on this after 12 days.

Just a thank you would have been nice.