Help with child car seat in motorhome

ScreenName900F41CE57 replied on 03/09/2022 10:17

Posted on 03/09/2022 10:17

We have just bought our first motorhome, a Swift Bessacar 494, total novices to all this and was told by the dealer that any child car seat secured by the belt would fit. We are only used to ones with isofix in our cars. However after getting one without isofix and installing it with the belt, it doesn't seem to fit securely and in fact rocks quite easily to each side. We are not sure whether this is because the seat cushions are so thick compared to a car or because we haven't found the right seat. Has anyone else had this problem and what did you do to rectify it? Would be interested to know what makes and models of child car seats people have used in their motorhomes so it gives us a starting place. Our son is 6 years old. Any help greatly appreciated thanks Amy 

BlueVanMan replied on 17/09/2022 10:29

Posted on 17/09/2022 10:29

I am not an expert on "car" seats but I have in the past considered whether I could carry a grandchild in my 2017 Citroen based van (essentially the same as your Ducato). 

I think a seat for a six year old will be "Booster seat" i.e. a seat with a shell into which the child fits. The seat is restrained by the seat belt. Depending on the seat and childs size and weight the seat may or may not have its on multi point harness or the seat belt may restrain the child as well as the seat itself. 

Its my personal view that I would not use a seat which depends only on the seat belt for restraint. Isofix which connects the seat frame to the seat/vehicle body  gives more security and a top tether as well is good. The forces involved in even a low speed collision are immense. 

So I suggest that you make quite sure that your van does not have isofix  and if it does have either you can source a suitable seat.