Driving on to Levelling Ramps

hitchglitch replied on 24/08/2016 11:57

Posted on 24/08/2016 11:57

I bought the three stage Milenco ramps and in about 5 weeks of touring have only needed to use them about three times but being a complete novice I seem to make a hash of it every time. Handbrake on, first gear, lots of revs followed by burning smell (clutch plates?) and eventually up to second level. Top level seems too precarious and the ramps need to be VERY secure with no twisting etc. to risk it. Also some of the plastic is already breaking away so they are not as tough as they are made out to be.

Am I doing anything wrong? Is there a better system?

KeithandMargaret replied on 24/08/2016 12:23

Posted on 24/08/2016 12:23

Probably not doing a lot wrong.

We have the same type of ramp and it does need a bit of practice.

We have SWMBO directing the MH up the ramp and a curt hand signal when we are at the top, if we need to go that far, or where we consider the right height.

Then it's foot brake hard down, handbrake on and put in first gear before releasing the foot brake.

We found 'backing' on the blocks better than going forward as they can shoot forward by themselves at high speed depending on the surface beneath them – tarmac seems worst.

Having said all that we only used them twice in a month in France recently and they are deteriorating fast despite the minimal use they get.

Some people use wooden wedges, obviously cheaper, but they usually have less grip to the surface, especially grass, beneath them than the plastic blocks.

Unless the wine glass, and it's contents, are a a dangerous angle we try not to use blocks if possible.

DavidKlyne replied on 24/08/2016 12:44

Posted on 24/08/2016 12:44