Levelling ramps

Steve987 replied on 27/06/2021 17:18

Posted on 27/06/2021 17:18

Hi everyone, 

I am new to caravanning and am looking to buy a levelling ramp, but I don’t know if I need a single ramp or a pair. I would have thought that I would only need one ramp to raise one side of the caravan to make it steady. However, I’m a little confused as to why some are sold in pairs. Can anyone share their thoughts or advice please?

Many thanks

Steve

Cornersteady replied on 27/06/2021 17:40

Posted on 27/06/2021 17:40

We bought two but now only take only with us in the caravan as we found we only ever used one. If you have two then you can stack them and so get even higher on one side to level your caravan. I think they are sold in pairs as motorhomers use them at the front? 

It depends on what type of site you intend to use and the surface with hardstandings usually being more level than grass. Most club sites, or the ones I've been on only require one and really only then because I can feel when things aren't level and don't like doors inside swinging open. Most people on club sites don't bother. If however you're going to other more 'rougher' sites it might be worth having two.

Usually on the club site web page it will say whether ramps are advised or needed, and/or reading the reviews may give you a hint.

Cornersteady replied on 27/06/2021 17:47

Posted on 27/06/2021 17:47

Another thing, do you have a motor mover or are you going to use the car to push/pull the caravan up the ramp? Either way does take some practice. I have a mover and I find I have to hold the ramp in place while the the mover moves it up the ramp as the ramp will twist under it.

When you have got it to the desired position, a good ides to chock the wheel to stop it moving back.

Tinwheeler replied on 27/06/2021 17:51

Posted on 27/06/2021 17:51