WIFI

mmbgeb replied on 20/09/2023 12:19

Posted on 20/09/2023 12:19

Having been a member for over 10 years & paid a yearly charge for WIFI, we stopped at Hurn Lane in Somerset & the pricwe for WIFI was, to say the least, horendous. £5 a day, £15 per week & £25 per month. What has happened??? We pay enough for sites & membership, now an added cost.

Not Happy, will be cancelling my membership.

Tinwheeler replied on 20/09/2023 13:32

Posted on 20/09/2023 13:32

Thanks for the correction, Steve. I’m usually amongst the first to point out nothing is free. "Included in the site fee" is the accurate term.

young thomas replied on 20/09/2023 14:03

Posted on 20/09/2023 14:03

The above official CAMC link mentions 'free' wifi on numerous occasions🤷🏻‍♂️

Customers will usually use the same terminology that the 'offering' supplier uses...hence 'free wifi to your pitch' etc.....

Dyddy replied on 20/09/2023 14:33

Posted on 20/09/2023 14:33

I'm far from an expert in such things, as a layman - could it be that sites everywhere choose to make this a cost option for those that require it as opposed to increasing pitch fees for everyone regardless of use. Some were advocating the use of electric meters to make that fairer for example.

The last time we purchased a days Wifi it was £3 on a site, purely as phone signal was poor. Forgive my ignorance, are the clubs charges for transient use much higher than if one was to sign up & get a mobile data contract? 

young thomas replied on 20/09/2023 14:43

Posted on 20/09/2023 14:43

Dyddy, as you have a phone im guessing you have a certain data allowance as part of the cost?

it's not really possible to say how much data will be needed (everyone's needs are different) nor how much that requirement will cost (much competition out there) but for basic website browsing and email collection 500mb (half a gig) a day should be more than ample.

with cheap providers offering upto 10 gb a month for a tenner or less, the choice is wide.