Towing Mirrors

VanMan1 replied on 21/04/2017 06:06

Posted on 21/04/2017 06:06

Can anybody please advise me on suitable towing mirrors for a Yeti Outdoors (2014 model)?  My "rubber strap" type cannot cope with the very curved shape of the door mirrors and I have reservations about those that bolt onto the door mirror rim - are they secure, do they damage the door mirror.  Any advice would be appreciated.

SteveL replied on 21/04/2017 08:02

Posted on 21/04/2017 08:02

I assume this will get moved to parts and accessories, as although it says ask, you should not post in ask the expert, except when invited. However, as to mirrors.

As long as they will fit, and they seem to fit most mirrors, the bolt onto rim Milenco Aero are fine. I have been using them for 10 years, on several cars, with no sign of damage. Miraculously, not even  when a police car whacked one, when accessing an accident on a blocked motorway.

Milothedog replied on 21/04/2017 08:15

Posted on 21/04/2017 08:15

I have a pair of Milneco Grand Areo's  and can't fault them. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and can buy spare parts if one gets damaged. I seem to recall that their website has/had and application listing for what type fitted what vehicle.

IanH replied on 21/04/2017 12:01

Posted on 21/04/2017 12:01

I have the Milenco clamp on type. They have never caused any damage. I find they are not quite as rigid as the ones with the rubber strap, but they are certainly good enough.

BillandMargaret replied on 21/04/2017 15:40

Posted on 21/04/2017 15:40

I have also used the Milenco type on my last 3 tow cars with no problems. My present tow car, I have put the clamping brackets onto the lower edge of the mirror, there is a bit more space in order too get the 2 rigid flat pieces in, then bolt up. Turn the mirrors so that the pointed end is at the top, and it gives me a good rear vision of the road at the back of the van.

harrib0 replied on 21/04/2017 17:50

Posted on 21/04/2017 17:50