Caravan sway

searle replied on 15/10/2018 00:01

Posted on 15/10/2018 00:01

I bought a Kia Sorento 65 plate every time i tow the caravan it feels like the caravan is swaying or moving its doing my head in I have had 2 mid range rear tyres fitted and a new tow ball could it be the tyres .I have been caravaning for ten years never had this before. Could it be the new towball or tow hitch pads any advice would be great.

Moderator Comment - Moved from the Story Section to Discussions

commeyras replied on 15/10/2018 10:01

Posted on 15/10/2018 10:01

I apologise for giving some obvious advice to someone who has been caravanning for 10 years but here goes!  There are a number of reasons why your outfit is unsteady.  An imbalanced outfit ie tail wagging the dog is probably the main cause; the 85% ratio guide is a good starting point but you should be ok to 100%.  Next noseweight;, you should be as close to the maximum as possible either hook limit or car limit, mine is 100kgs for both and I try to achieve 95kgs.  Loading is linked to noseweight but avoid putting heavy items to the rear of the caravan as this can introduce a pendulum effect; put them over the axle.  Caravan tyres, I am no expert but caravan tyres are different from normal road tyres, they are van tyres or ones specifically for trailers; perhaps someone with more expertise could expand on this one.  Is the rear suspension of your car ok? Finally, tyre pressures on both caravan and tow car should be correct.  Don't think that the tow ball or hitch pads will be the cause.  Did you have this problem on your previous tow car?  If the weight raitos are ok it is likely, but not certainly,  to be with the car.

I'm sure others will give further advice but I have been caravanning for over 45 years and rarely have I had a swaying/snaking problem.

Milothedog replied on 15/10/2018 10:54

Posted on 15/10/2018 10:54