Mounting a tv

ScreenName955E982D46 replied on 18/07/2021 19:31

Posted on 18/07/2021 19:31

Hi! I'm completely new to caravanning. I bought a swift corniche 15/2 from 2009 and I'm trying to space save and be organised. Is there a way to mount a TV bracket with arm in a caravan. I'd like to have it on the wall in the image but unsure if it would be stable.

Tinwheeler replied on 18/07/2021 19:59

Posted on 18/07/2021 19:59

Do you mean you would like to mount it on the actual caravan wall? If so, don't do it.

The wall forms part of the structure of the caravan which you could weaken. It would be impossible to reinforce the wall to take the weight and fixings and it is also very likely that you would puncture the outer skin of the van with the result you would incur water ingress. Never, ever, compromise the basic structure or integrity of your van.

You need to think seriously before making any alterations at all such as asking yourself what is behind that panel and what damage you could do. In the same way, the 'wooden' upright shown in your picture would not be suitable because the cabling to your controls and switches is beneath that cover.

Wall mounting a TV bracket in a caravan needs to be to a surface such as the side wall of a wardrobe with a reinforcing panel on the other side to receive the fixings.

I think you’re better off to leave the TV free standing.

JVB66 replied on 18/07/2021 20:12

Posted on 18/07/2021 20:12

Looking at the picture the wood cabinet with the heater controls ,is possibly the place where a bracket could be mounted ,by using bolts through wood? ,and mount the TV on the bracket using a detachable mount ,to enable removal when traveling

The wall of the caravan would not be a suitable surface

lagerorwine replied on 22/07/2021 11:18

Posted on 22/07/2021 11:18