Advice on tow bar

Gwkenny replied on 29/01/2019 22:57

Posted on 29/01/2019 22:57

Hi all.

Complete novice here, my wife and I are looking at buying a caravan in 2020 and currently looking at upgrading our car this year to tow. 

We're aiming for a adria 600 series single axle and buying a hyundai santa fe 4wd manual. The guy at the caravan store said that car has the desired weight and parameters to do what we need.

I've been scouting auto trader and looking for a santa fe ideally with a REMOVABLE bar thingy. I've come across this one (see attached image) but is this what I need? I know I need a 13pin power which looks to be to the left of the tow bar, but is the one in the image removeable as far as you can fathom? 

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated as I know very little. 

Metheven replied on 31/01/2019 09:46

Posted on 31/01/2019 09:46

No, that one looks to be a fixed flange towball (almost certain by the photo), a detached is one where the towball and arm can be removed and just leaving a blank neat looking socket.

To some aesthetics does not matter so its a personal choice, fixed or detachable they both do the same job.

Cornersteady replied on 31/01/2019 10:28

Posted on 31/01/2019 10:28

we have the 'twin' to your car (A kia Sorrento) it is a great tow car but check the weight of your new van yourself and don't rely on the dealers, use the club's matching service here.

Like Metheven says its a personal choice based on what you want, if it doesn't bother you having a tow bar at the back then that is the cheaper option and is always there.

We have a detachable one with means you have to get down, maybe on your knees, and attach it every time you want to tow and is a little fiddly. It slots upwards and locks into place into the tow bar nothing can be seen when it's not there. This gives you an idea of what happens:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ulh282wpqP0